Ted Greenwald

Born Brooklyn, NY, 1942
Died 2016, New York, NY

Photo by Charles Bernstein.


Ted Greenwald authored over fifteen books of poetry. Selected works include Lapstrake (1965), Makes Sense (1975), You Bet! (1979), Licorice Chronicles (1979), Common Sense (1979), Word of Mouth (1986), Poker Blues, (a video with Les Levine that premiered at the Museum of Mott Art, Inc. in 1991), Jumping the Line (1999), The Up and Up (2004), In Your Dreams (2008), 3 (2008), Clearview / LIE (2011), Comma Fork—Moving Parts (2013), A Mammal of Style (2013), with Kit Robinson; and Con Dot (2014). Greenwald's books are available from BlazeVox, Cuneiform, Atelos, Roof, SPD, and AddAll.

Prior to his 2014 Grants to Artists award, Greenwald received grants from the Kulcher Foundation (1979), the National Endowment for the Arts (1980), and the Fund for Poetry (2013).

Greenwald received a B.A. from Queens College and continued his studies at City College of New York and New York University.

Read the poems (available on PennSound).